Record Turnout Highlights Great Week at Faith Eagles Sports Camp

Record Turnout Highlights Great Week at Faith Eagles Sports Camp

"Thank you for the sports camp you put on this past week.  The basketball team had a blast and learned so much."
–Coach Dawson Ackerman

ANKENY, Iowa--Over 200 athletes and coaches were on campus last week for Faith's Summer Sports Camp—a four-day event that included fitness testing; competitive drills in volleyball, basketball, and soccer; team tournaments; strength and conditioning training; and devotional sessions for high school boys and girls.

The camp was a huge success, drawing a record number of athletes and positive reviews from coaches across the Midwest.

James Stark, a coach from Fort Scott, Kansas, brought five athletes for soccer and basketball.  He said he received valuable training as a coach, especially in the area of strength and conditioning.

"The strength and conditioning sessions were extremely helpful.  We normally shy away from strength and conditioning because, if you do it wrong, it can do more harm than good," said James.

Stark added that he was thankful for the balance of instruction and fun, and he was impressed with the attitudes of all athletes involved.  "There was a real emphasis on spiritual growth," said James.  "The focus was on honoring the Lord instead of individuals."

The week began with the arrival of athletes and coaches on Wednesday afternoon followed by fitness testing and a discipleship session to kick the event off.  Thursday and Friday were packed with skills development and competitive tournaments, capped off by an Awards Ceremony Saturday morning.

Here are the award winners for the 2018 Summer Sports Camp:

Boy's Basketball

MVP: Jared Pearson
Coaches Award: Daniel Lounsbrough
Spark Plug Award: Carson Odle

Girl's Basketball

MVP: Donnecia King
Coaches Award: Andrea Long
Spark Plug Award: Alison Lundberg


Team Tournament Champs: (Red Team) = Erin Francis; Lydia Rethwisch; Josiah Zollinger; Noah Elrod; William Holst; Benny Kleczka; Bergen Allison; Drake Lane; Justin Smith; Peter Quick
Boys MVP: Rylan Boldt
Coaches Award: Josiah Zollinger
Spark Plug Award: Tucker Stanerson

Girls MVP: Lydia Rethwisch
Coaches Award: Alison Lundberg
Spark Plug: Makena Yelland



Team Champions (5x5): Shawnee Mission
Team Champions (6x6): Owatonna Christian
MVP: Amanda Larson
Coaches Award: Kylee Pavelka
Spark Plug Award: Lydia Hillebrand